Symposia Sessions

Symposium Days:

Sunday, August 12, 2018


12:00 – 13:00
Room: Pier 4

Lunch Symposium supported by Codman Specialty Surgical
Advanced Monitoring in the Neuro ICU
Invitation only

  • Dr. Uzma Samadani, MD, PhD
    Rockswold Kaplan Endowed Chair for Traumatic Brain Injury Research
    Hennepin County Medical Center
    Associate Professor
    University of Minnesota Department of Neurosurgery

There is ample evidence supporting the need for a better vital sign than intracranial pressure (ICP) for patients having endured a traumatic brain injury (TBI). Multiple prospective randomized trials have been completed (e.g. DECRA, EUROTHERM, RESCUEicp) that have raised more questions than answers about the current state of TBI management. The feasibility of utilizing a treatment protocol based on ICP and brain tissue oxygen (PbtO2) monitoring was evaluated in the BOOOST II trial, which was published in 2017. Results of this trial, as well as other data supporting the value of utilizing brain tissue oxygen monitoring for TBI management, will be reviewed and discussed.

Monday, August 13, 2018


7:30 – 8:20
Room: Pier 2+3

Breakfast Symposium supported by Fortuna Fix
Direct cell reprogramming technology and its potential in the treatment of Neurotrauma
Invitation only

  • Jan-Eric Ahlfors
    Inventor, CEO and CSO of Fortuna Fix
  • Dr. Michael Fehlings
    Chairman of the SAB of Fortuna Fix
  • Dr. Dallas Hack
    Member of the SAB of Fortuna Fix
TEAM logo
13:00 – 14:00
Room: Pier 2+3
Lunch Symposium supported by TEAM
NINDS Strategies to Enhance Diversity of Neuroscience Researchers

About TEAM
TEAM is an organization established to promote international gender equality in neurotrauma research. It is an organization for all individuals interested in these aims regardless of gender. We appreciate a wide diversity of ideas and opinions to help the organization successfully meets its goals.

TEAM Lunch Symposium
On Monday, August 13th TEAM is hosting a Lunch SymposiumTalk Title: NINDS Strategies to Enhance Diversity of Neuroscience ResearchersSynopsis: The goal of session is to provide a summary of NINDS resources regarding diversity and to identify opportunities and share successful approaches for effective recruitment, training, and retention of diverse individuals within the neuroscience community.Michelle-Jones-London

Invited Speaker: Dr. Michelle D. Jones-London serves as chief in the Office of Programs to Enhance Neuroscience Workforce Diversity (OPEN) at the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS), NIH. Jones-London provides leadership for the establishment of meaningful networks and partnerships to increase neuroscience workforce diversity by developing and implementing specific funding opportunities (individual and institutional) and works across the NINDS scientific portfolio to promote inclusion. She earned her PhD at Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine and then received postdoctoral training as a research fellow at University of Pennsylvania in the department of psychiatry. She has performed duties across the Department of Health and Human Services including the Center for Scientific Review, FDA Office of Women’s Health Science Program, and the Immediate Office of the Secretary, Intergovernmental/Tribal Affairs Office. Jones-London directs programs at NINDS which include Diversity and Re-Entry Supplements, Predoctoral Fellowships to Promote Diversity in Health-Related Research (F31), Career Development Awards to Promote Diversity (K22 and K01) and Diversity Research Education Grants (R25) (including the Neuroscience Scholars Program with SfN). Her trans-NIH efforts include oversight for the NIH Blueprint ENDURE program and D-SPAN (F99/K00).

Tickets are $20 and can be bought when registering for the symposium.

The TEAM Neurotrauma (Training, Education and Mentoring) Visiting International Scholar Award (TEAM-VISA) was established to promote international networking opportunities and to advance the early careers of Neurotrauma researchers. The CAD 3,000 award provides an opportunity for international collaboration by subsidizing both travel to the NeuroTrauma 2018 Symposium in Toronto and a brief period of research training/collaboration in a sponsor’s laboratory. This award supports the mission of TEAM to promote international gender equality in neurotrauma research to learn new skills or techniques pertinent to their research projects.

TEAM-VISA AWARD Deadline: April 19, 2018

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

7:30 – 8:20
Room: Pier 2+3

Breakfast Symposium supported by European Neurotrauma Network
ERA-NET Neuron – European interdisciplinary multi-site studies for translational research in traumatic brain injury

Nikolaus Plesnila, Munich, Germany

  • Jerome Badaut, Bordeaux, France
    Morpho-functional changes in neurovascular unit after juvenile mild-traumatic brain injury
  • Inga Körte, Munich/Boston, Germany/USA
    Repetitive Subconcussive Head Impacts – Brain Alterations and Clinical Consequences (RepImpact)
  • Juan M Encinas, Leioa, Spain
    Reactive Neurogenesis in the Hippocampus after Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Nikolaus Plesnila, Munich, Germany
    Long-term histopathological and functional outcome after severe experimental TBI Speakers


13:00 – 14:00
Room: Harbour Ballroom A+B

Lunch Symposium supported by AOSpine
Update on AOSpine Guidelines for Traumatic SCI

 Boxed Lunch

  • Michael G. Fehlings
    Introduction of the AOSpine Guidelines issue
  • Brian Kwon
    Role and timing of surgical intervention including central cord injury
  • Jeff Wilson
    Role of methylprednisolone
  • Shekhar Kurpad
    Role of MR Imaging
  • All Faculty
    Panel Discussion
  • Michael G. Fehlings
    Closing Remark

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

13:00 – 14:00
Room: Pier 2+3
Lunch Symposium supported by Ontario Neurotrauma Foundation & Rick Hansen Institute
Research, Innovation and Translation in SCI

  • Kent Bassett-Spiers, CEO, Ontario Neurotrauma Foundation
  • Michael Fehlings MD, PhD FRCSC, FACS Professor of Neurosurgery Vice Chair Research Department of Surgery Halbert Chair in Neural Repair and Regeneration
  • Eve Tsai MD, PhD. Assistant Professor Neurosurgery Suruchi Bhargava Chair in Spinal Cord and Brain Regeneration Research
  • Brain Kwon MD, PhD, FRCSC Professor of Orthopaedics, University of British Columbia. Associate Scientific Director Rick Hansen Institute
  • Bill Barrable, CEO of Rick Hansen Institute

Follow IAFS 2018:

Facebook Twitter
Switch To Full Site

Conference Updates


Subscribe to receive important information about the upcoming Conference